Enemies of Doves: Lone Star Book Blog Tour – Review

ENEMIES OF DOVES
by
Shanessa Gluhm

Genre: Historical Fiction / Mystery
Publisher: TouchPoint Press
Publication Date: March 20, 2020
Number of Pages: 324 pages

Scroll down for the giveaway!

Told in alternating timelines from World War II to 1992, debut author Shanessa Gluhm’s Enemies of Doves is a tale of family secrets, jealousy, and deception perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Katherine Webb.

On a summer night in 1932, twelve-year-old Joel Fitchett wanders into an East Texas diner badly beaten and carrying his unconscious brother, Clancy. Though both boys claim they have no memory of what happened, the horrific details are etched into their minds as deep as the scar left across Joel’s face.

Thirteen years later, both men still struggle with the aftershocks of that long-ago night and the pact they made to hide the truth. When they find themselves at the center of a murder investigation, they make a decision that will change everything. A second lie, a second pact, and, for a time, a second chance. In 1991 college student Garrison Stark travels to Texas chasing a rumor that Clancy Fitchett is his biological grandfather. Clancy has been missing since 1946, and Garrison hopes to find him and, in doing so, find a family. What he doesn’t expect to discover is a tangle of secrets spanning sixty years involving Clancy, Joel, and the woman they both loved, Lorraine.


PRAISE for Enemies of Doves:
Enemies of Doves weaves a timeline of events that makes for compelling reading. It’s an ecological system of interlocking decisions, discoveries, and circumstances that spans some sixty years of love, danger, and revelations.” —D. Donovan, senior reviewer, Midwest Book Review

“I’ve read some amazing thriller and suspense stories this year, but Enemies of Doves takes the mid-year prize. I’m not one for dual timelines, but this one was perfection with the fifty-year time-span moving forward in tandem. Garrison’s search will cause time to collide, unlocking a lifetime of secrets, and THE PLOT TWIST OF 2020!” —author Felicia Denise

“Shanessa Gluhm is a brilliant writer. I very seldom read a book that I cannot figure out how it will end, but this one literally blew me away!” —Lori Thomas Harrington, author of The Point

 
CLICK TO PURCHASE:
Review
Four Stars

That night brought more memories. And if memories weren’t enough, in came the ghosts.

It isn’t often that a mystery can keep readers guessing until its conclusion but Enemies of Doves, the debut novel by author Shanessa Gluhm, not only maintains the suspense but does so with intersecting narratives and timelines, unexpected twists and turns, and a well concealed ending.

The tangled web of family secrets and lies plays out over the span of fifty years. At the core of the story is the bond between two brothers, Joel and Clancy Fitchett, whose suppressed memory of a violent act has left both of them emotionally scarred and one with a physical reminder of the incident. Their relationship is complex, with feelings of resentment, anger, jealousy, regret, and self-sacrifice affecting how they perceive and interact with one another. The two brothers struggle to not only maintain their pact of secrecy about the incident but their need for love, acceptance, and belonging. Complicating matters is their attraction to the same woman, Lorraine Applewhite, and the murder of their domineering and abusive father. Tom Fitchett’s murder will lead to  Joel’s imprisonment and the disappearance of Clancy and Lorraine.

Fast forward fifty years later. College student Garrison Stark experiences the painful loss of family when a terrible car accident claims the lives of his parents and his grandmother succumbs to the ravages of Alzheimer’s disease. Before she passes away, however, she intimates that Clancy is his true biological grandfather. Longing for family, Garrison sets out to find him.

His search for the truth begins in the library archives where he is introduced to Molly Hamilton, another college student whose course curriculum has her researching the Fitchett murder. She is convinced that Joel is innocent of the crime. Due to their mutual interest in Joel and Clancy, the two agree to help one another.

To find Clancy Garrison will also interview Joel in prison. The initial meeting doesn’t end well, but Joel is just as interested in locating Lorraine as Garrison is in finding his brother, which leads to more meetings between the two and the disclosure that  someone has been putting money into Joel’s prison account over the years, and he is convinced that it is her.

Garrison’s obsession with unraveling the case and possibly locating the only remaining member of his family will destroy his engagement to his girlfriend Amber, ignite romantic feelings for Molly, and uncover hidden identities and familial relationships, the revelation of which could threaten her. Molly has no inkling of her linkage to the case beyond her academic pursuits and desire to free an innocent man, or the evil that exists within her own family.

Author Shanessa Gluhm, in her very first outing as a novelist, has written a multi-layered narrative of unrequited love, child abuse, dementia, murder, PTSD, secrets, lies, and regrets. Enemies of Doves not only seamlessly weaves all these elements together, but engages you from the very beginning, doesn’t come full circle until the very end, and leaves you thinking about it long after its completion.

I received an advanced copy of Enemies of Doves in exchange for my review.

 

Shanessa Gluhm works as a librarian at an elementary school in New Mexico, where she lives with her husband and children. It was during her own elementary days when a teacher encouraged Shanessa to write and share stories with the class. She hasn’t stopped writing since. Enemies of Doves is her debut novel. 

 

 

 

———————————
GIVEAWAY! GIVEAWAY! GIVEAWAY!
TWO WINNERS! 
1st: Signed Copy + $20 Amazon Card
2nd: eBook 
JULY 28-August 7, 2020
(US ONLY)

 

FOR DIRECT LINKS TO EACH POST ON THIS TOUR, UPDATED DAILY, 
or visit the blogs directly:

7/28/20
Playlist
7/28/20
BONUS Post
7/29/20
Top Ten List
7/30/20
Review
7/31/20
Review
8/1/20
Author Interview
8/2/20
Scrapbook Page
8/3/20
Review
8/4/20
Deleted Scene
8/5/20
Review
8/6/20
Review
   blog tour services provided by
  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CLICK TO PURCHASE:

 

    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ldren. It was during her own elementary days when a teacher encouraged Shanessa to write and share stories with the class. She hasn’t stopped writing since. Enemies of Doves is her debut novel. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: maxknight73

Retired Army Officer and Counterintelligence Specialist. Currently living in San Antonio, Texas with his wife Gray. Cancer survivor. Avid history buff and writer.

2 thoughts on “Enemies of Doves: Lone Star Book Blog Tour – Review”

Leave a Reply to shanessagluhm Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s