Iberian Ties: Lone Star Book Blog Tour Guest Post

IBERIAN TIES
by
Quintin Vargas


Genre: Crime Fiction / Mystery / Suspense
International Thriller 

Publisher: Vanguard Publishers
Date of Publication: May 13, 2019
Number of Pages: 405
Scroll down for giveaway!

Without a motive, how do you catch a killer? A gripping thriller in the vein of Harlan Coben, Paula Hawkins, and Lee Child.

A rising star psychiatrist, American Nate Shelley is in Spain’s Canary Islands, making his world debut at a convention. But after delivering his keynote address, he and his fiancée Miro are arrested for murder.

Nate knows he’s not guilty, but is his future wife involved in some way in the crime? Miro’s directly implicated when the murder victim is identified as her stalker.

Is Nate’s career ruined? Is he facing life imprisonment? Does the American couple stand a chance of convincing the Spanish authorities—and Interpol—that they’re innocent? Not in a post-Brexit, anti-Trump European environment.

Racing to clear their names, Nate and Miro will soon be embroiled in sham investigations, powerful cartels, and family secrets finally coming to light.

Full of intrigue, this gritty international crime novel is a thrilling ride.

CLICK TO PURCHASE
PRAISE FOR IBERIAN TIES:
“Brilliant thriller! I totally loved and enjoyed this book!! Interesting twists and turns, well-developed characters and suspense all along the way. Definitely kept me on the edge of my seat. Can’t wait for the next book!” –Gaby M., Goodreads Review
“This was an education about cultures and history as well as an unpredictable mystery.” –Robert R., Amazon Review

GuestPost

The Personal Connections in Iberian Ties

Guest Post

By Quintin Vargas

My first international thriller, IBERIAN TIES, has several personal elements interspersed throughout. When I set out to write this book, I definitely conducted additional research on the Canary Islands, the main setting for the book, although I knew the archipelago from my travels and visits there. I also researched police practices and the Spanish legal system. I examined the inner workings of cartels, with attention paid to international crime. (However, I’ve not visited Lisbon and Marrakesh, which also play into the plot.)

There are several names throughout the book with personal significance as well. While I was developing one of the book’s early chapters, one of our grandchildren was born, and he was named “Scheffler,” a name which made it into the book. Although early on in my drafts of the manuscript, numerous characters were named after friends and family, most of those were eliminated for fear that some unintended associations would be made concerning the characters’ moral failings or misdeeds. However, the name of one of my best friends remained and is attached to a main character, although the name has been slightly veiled and translated into English. Another interesting tidbit is that I could not refrain from using my birth place to name my main heroine’s birthplace. However, to avoid complications, I kept all the letters of the original name and changed it to Dearlo Heights.

Author PicIberian Ties is the first work of fiction published by Quintin Vargas. In addition to being an author, he combined a career as professor and dean in various American universities with becoming owner of a firm that prepared new immigrants to enter the marketplace and international workforce. His work impacted leadership development for various domestic and international private industries, non-profit organizations, and higher education.

As an academic, he served as dean and provost at various universities, including DePaul University in Chicago, the University of Texas, San Antonio, and St. Edward’s University. His academic writings have been highlighted in various publications, including the Journal of Research and Development in Education, the National Commission on Testing and Public Policy, and the Journal of Thought.

He and his wife, Marty, have five children and thirteen grandchildren. They reside in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex.

—————————————–
GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!
Three Winners: Choice of Signed Print or eBook Copy
July 23-August 2, 2019

CHECK OUT THE OTHER GREAT BLOGS ON THE TOUR:

7/23/19
Notable Quotable
7/23/19
BONUS Post
7/24/19
Excerpt
7/25/19
Review
7/26/19
Guest Post
7/27/19
Author Interview
7/28/19
Review
7/29/19
Top 15 List
7/30/19
Scrapbook Page
7/31/19
Review
8/1/19
Review

 

   blog tour services provided by
  

 

Vortex: Lone Star Book Blog Tour Promo and Review

VORTEX
by
KIMBERLY PACKARD
Genre: Women’s Fiction / Psychological
Publisher: Abalos Publishing
Publication Date: January 31, 2019
Number of Pages: 308 pagesSCROLL DOWN FOR THE GIVEAWAY! 

Constant spinning, round and round and round, temperatures rise and fall from stifling heat to chilling cold, emotions run high in anticipation of what will happen next… there’s a fine line between surviving a tornado and falling in love.
A close encounter with a tornado, during the final months of her doctoral studies, jogs a lost memory to the surface. Desperate to relive the vision and find answers, storm chaser Elaina Adams continually puts her safety at risk by placing herself in the path of dangerous storms.
When betrayal strikes, Elaina is forced to pair up with Robert Tucker. “Tuck” owns a storm chasing tour group and only cares about two things: chasing tornadoes and making his next buck.
Seth Maddux was climbing his way to the top as the star meteorologist for the Forecast channel, but an embarrassing outburst on camera sent his career on a downward spiral. Hoping to reignite his career with a promising field assignment, he meets Elaina and a different kind of flame sparks.
Family secrets surface and passions explode in this twister of a tale.
Vortex is a story of family, love, identity and determination set against the thrilling backdrop of Tornado Alley. 

 

PRAISE FOR VORTEX:

“Set in the heart of America’s Tornado Alley, Kimberly Packard’s latest psychological fiction swirls with discovery and betrayal. VORTEX may make you question who among those closest to you are really your friends.” — Addison Brae, author of Becker Circle
“Vortex is a fast-paced story with a strong woman at its center. Readers will be in for a wild ride full of secrets, the labyrinth of memory, and the spark of romance. Definitely one to add to your reading list.” — Christine Brodersen, author of Lip Gloss, Shame and Murdered Tomatoes

“Kimberly Packard is an accomplished author who writes strong women characters. She blew me away with her Phoenix series (three books you don’t want to miss) and now in Vortex, we meet Elaina Adams, who, like all of us, struggles with her past, her career, and her family secrets. Action, and emotion-packed, this page-turner is a different kind of love story.” — Vanessa Foster, author of More than Everything

Review

Five-Stars

Welcome to the world of Elaina Adams, doctoral candidate and storm chaser, where unpredictability and the unknown have fueled an intense need to understand and confront her fears. As she attempts to complete her thesis on tornado genesis, repressed memories surface that could completely alter her conception of who she really is. Does she really want to reveal the secrets to her past? Will their revelation destroy her along with everyone and everything that she loves including her beloved yellow Labrador Retriever?

Kimberly Packard has written a riveting book that is part mystery, part psychological thriller, and part romance aptly titled Vortex. As her world circles around her, Elaina is drawn into the vacuum and becomes subject to its destructive forces. She will not be the only one!

Heath Bryant is her research partner. As Elaina’s determination to unravel the mystery of her past causes her to take unnecessary risks, how far is he willing to go and at what cost?

Seth Maddux is a newscaster who needs to salvage his career after an on-air meltdown. He and Elaina are drawn to each other romantically, but neither Seth nor Elaina are sure they should pursue their mutual attraction. Seth has been hurt in a prior relationship while Elaina doesn’t need the distraction from her research. Will they give in to their feelings?

Robert Tucker is a sleazy storm chaser who conducts tours for thrill seekers. He’s strictly in it for the money, but he does have an instinctive ability to predict tornadoes. Tuck also has secrets that are linked to Elaina’s past. He’s a menacing presence in an already dangerous situation. Should Elaina trust him?

Dr. Tom Pierce is the foremost expert on tornadoes and Elaina’s university mentor and financial sponsor. Crippled in a car accident during a severe storm, he can no longer conduct field research. Is there a hidden agenda behind his decision to advance the timeline for Elaina to complete her thesis even at the risk of personal injury to her and her partner?

Psychiatrist Harrington Preston treats individuals with repressed memories. In some cases those memories have been deliberately blocked by the drug “Retentamine.” Was Elaina given the drug during her childhood?

The answers to these questions are revealed in a climactic ending that forces each of these characters to face his or her reality and the consequences of their actions.

Kudos to Kimberly Packard for writing a thoroughly entertaining story that will definitely appeal to women and even to guys like me that normally do not read romance novels!

I received a free copy of the book in exchange for my review.

Kimberly Packard is an award-winning author of edgy women’s fiction. She began visiting her spot on the shelves at libraries and bookstores at a young age, gazing between the Os and the Qs. When she isn’t writing, she can be found running, doing a poor imitation of yoga or curled up with a book. She resides in Texas with her husband Colby, a clever cat named Oliver and a yellow lab named Charlie.

Her debut novel, Phoenix, was awarded as Best General Fiction of 2013 by the Texas Association of Authors. She is also the author of a Christmas novella, The Crazy Yates, and the sequels to Phoenix, Pardon Falls and Prospera Pass.

————————————
GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!
FIRST PRIZE: Signed Copy  +  $5 Amazon gift card + Bookmark
SECOND PRIZE: Signed Copy + Bookmark
TWO WINNERS: eBook copies
FEBRUARY 19-28, 2019

(USA only)

VISIT THE OTHER GREAT BLOGS ON THE TOUR:

2/19/19
Notable Quotable
2/19/19
Notable Quotable
2/19/19
BONUS post
2/20/19
Review
2/21/19
Review
2/22/19
Excerpt
2/22/19
Author Interview
2/23/19
Review
2/24/19
Review
2/25/19
Top Ten List
2/25/19
Deleted Scene
2/26/19
Review
2/27/19
Playlist
2/27/19
Scrapbook Page
2/28/19
Review
2/28/19
Review
   blog tour services provided by